GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Governor Appointments Panel held in the Wantsum Room, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Friday, 5 October 2012.

PRESENT: Ms S J Carey, Mrs V J Dagger, Mr D S Daley and Mr R Tolputt

OFFICERS: Mr N Morgan (School Governance Officer) and Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

11. Election of Chairman

(Item)

(1) Mrs V J Dagger moved, seconded by Mr D S Daley that Mr R Tolputt be elected Chairman for the meeting.

Carried Unanimously

(2) Mr R Tolputt thereupon took the Chair.

12. Minutes- 29 June 2012

(Item A3)

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting held on 29 June 2012 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

13. Authority Governors for Primary, Secondary and Special Schools in Kent *(Item B1)*

(1) The Panel decided not to appoint Mr N Wootton to the Governing Body of Simon Langton Grammar School for Boys. It asked the School Governance Officer to offer Mr Wootton the opportunity to represent the Authority on another suitable Governing Body instead.

(2) The Panel agreed to re-appoint both Mrs T Ball and Miss A Ball to the Governing Body of The Manor Community Primary School as their appointments had initially been made on the recommendation of the Area Education Officer. Since then, both of them had performed effectively and had an excellent attendance record.

(3) The School Governance Officer asked the Panel to consider a late nomination of Miss L Robinson to the Governing Body of South Borough School. He explained that the number of Governors at that School had reduced and there was an urgent need to fill the vacancies. The Panel agreed to the appointment of Miss Robinson.

(4) RESOLVED that the appointments of Authority Governors to Primary, Secondary, Special Schools, Pupil Referral Units, the Pool of Additional Governors and the nominations to non-Authority Academies be agreed as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes.

APPENDIX (Paragraph 13 of the Minutes refers)

1. ASHFORD

School

Goldwyn Community Special School Goldwyn Community Special School High Halden CE Primary School Tenterden St Michael's CE Primary School Willesborough Junior School Repton Manor Primary School

2. CANTERBURY

School

Joy Lane Primary School St Nicholas' School St Phillip Howard Catholic Primary School

3. DARTFORD

School

Bean Primary School Our Lady of Hartley Catholic Primary School The Craylands School The Manor Community Primary School The Manor Community Primary School

4. DOVER

School Harbour School

5. GRAVESHAM

School

Northfleet Nursery School Rosherville CE Primary School Vigo Village Primary School Westcourt Primary School

6. MAIDSTONE

School

Harrietsham CE Primary School Kingswood Primary School South Borough Primary School St Francis Catholic School

Appointee

Mr G Reid Mr T O'Connor Mr R Carpenter Mrs C Cantor Mr J Viner Mrs H Caplen-Kingston

Appointee

Dr G Scotney Mr P Wardell Mr R Flaherty

Appointee

Mr S Bonner Mr A Macewan Mr S Wade Mrs T Ball Miss A Ball

Appointee Mrs A Hadley

Appointee

Mrs J Salisbury-Jones Mrs S Barnes Mrs J Yallop Mr S Carter

Appointee

Mrs J Whittle Mrs S Lowe Miss L Robinson Mr P Kilbride

7. SEVENOAKS

School Dunton Green Primary School

8. SHEPWAY

School Mundella Primary School

9. SWALE

School

The Federation of Kemsley and Milton Court Community Primary Schools Eastchurch CE Primary School Meadowfield School Minster-in-Sheppey Primary School Minster-in-Sheppey Primary School

10. THANET

School St Crispin's Community Primary Infant School St Crispin's Community Primary School

11. TONBRIDGE AND MALLING

School

Cage Green Primary School Capel Primary School Capel Primary School East Peckham Primary School Hadlow School Lunsford Primary School Stansted CE Primary School

- 12. TUNBRIDGE WELLS
- 13. PUPIL REFERRAL UNITS
- 14. PROPOSED FEDERATIONS
- 15. POOL OF ADDITIONAL GOVERNORS
- 16. NOMINATIONS TO ACADEMIES

Appointee Mrs D Esler

Appointee Mrs A Forsyth

Appointee Mr M Dendor

Mr A Booth Mrs A McLean Mrs B Hammond Mr K Ingleton Mr A Booth

Appointee

Mr P Corey Mr P Hill

Appointee

Mrs E Harlock Mr A Dray Mrs W Hale Mrs M Crundwell Mrs G Brown Miss K Newberry Mrs M Green